Havelock- Spring Break (Finally!)

After a busy past few months and a semi busy week at ANET, spring break finally come around! I spent my days on the IMG_3475beach, scuba diving, kayaking, and snorkeling. The first day we got there we were walking along the beach and saw a dead dolphin that wasn’t even the worst part, there were dogs eating it. Even though I was in paradise, I’m still in India.

I got to go diving twice while on Havelock, another island in the Andamans, both times were excellent! I didn’t vomit at all when I surfaced (huge success!) and the marine life was out of this world. One of my dives was a night dive. We dove a wreck that was all around phenomenal! We saw Lionfish, Scorpionfish, a giant Angelfish, corals that only come out at night, and an electric clam. My favorite was the electric clam, when it’s mouth was open you could see a current running thought it! On our way up to the surface we stopped, turned off all the lights, and saw some bioluminescent plankton. The whole dive was great! The night dive has been my favorite dive yet!

IMG_3495

We went ocean kayaking and snorkeling another day, which was fun too. The kayaking turned out to be more difficult then I thought but it was a good workout. The snorkeling was okay; nothing compared to the Galapagos but it served as a nice break before kayaking back to our hotel.

IMG_3489

The rest of my time on Havelock was spent reading or swimming at the beach, it was perfect! Spring break was much needed and now it’s back to the grindstone until April. I cannot believe it is March already, times flies! My mom will be here in just a month! We will have our own Indian adventure after classes are done and I am SO excited for that!

One thought on “Havelock- Spring Break (Finally!)

Leave a comment